PlaySpades
Home | Basics | Where to Play | Players | Other Info' | Random Jottings | Links

RANDOM JOTTINGS - 23rd September 2002

NEWS & GENERAL COMMENTS

My apologies for not updating the site for some months. I have checked all links and gamesites and have removed "Yahoo Backdoor" (no longer there ?) and "Funcom" (no longer doing games ?). I have given another site to download "CardShark Spades".

INTERESTING HANDS


Hand 1 - Should you play for a set?

    J743
K1082
4
A1074
 
A98
A754
AKJ
K83
  N   Q
Q96
Q10632
Q6522
W   E
  S  
    K10652
J3
9875
J9
 

Bidding: East 1, South 2, West 5 & North 3

E leads 6 to his partner's Ace. West cashes A and plays K cut by N with J (why J?). North cashes A and K and exits with 8. South cuts with a low spade and leads J to West's K - North playing 10. West returns 8 cut by South who leads a diamond. North throws a club (he doesn't cut!) and East wins with Q. East returns Q followed by K and A. E-W now make their bid since East must win a trick with 8 or 9. Both sides make and you might think it was good play all round! But it wasn't! North decided as early as the third trick not to try and set. As a general rule you should consider setting an 11 bid. The big clue is the third trick. North knows that East was probably counting K as a trick. Therefore he knows there is a chance of setting him. He should therefore cut with a small spade and cut any further diamond leads. If you play the cards out, then you will see that N-S have an easy set. What can we learn from this hand? Don't make up your mind to bag the opponents too early in the hand. There are two reasons why. Firstly, getting a set is more important than taking a few bags and secondly, your partner may have a problem making his bid and YOU end up getting set! When should you bag? As a general rule NEVER play the bagging game on bids of 12 & 13 tricks - always play for a set. You have to use your judgement on a bid of 11. Bagging may be the right play, but you should consider a set and don't start bagging early in the hand. On 10 and less bagging is probably the right play, however playing for a set may be right on occasions. If opponents have bid 8 tricks and my partner and I have bid 2 tricks, then I would probably bag from trick one - being set would not be a disaster. However, if opponents have bid 2 tricks and my partner and I have bid 8 tricks, then be very careful! The most important thing is to make your bid. This time being set would be a disaster. A couple of bags is better than -80.

Hand 2 - Miracles Do Happen - Part 1

    J54
AJ62
KQ3
Q108
 
A
Q1097
J105
AJ974
  N   Q862
854
764
532
W   E
  S  
    K10973
K3
A982
K6
 

E-W were winning comfortably 494 to 357. North bids 2 and East bids 1. Double Nil sounds ridiculous after the first two bids so South looks at his cards. What can he do to save the game? He has a bid of 4 or 5. Can he do anything to fool E-W? South tried a bid of 2!! What does West now think? It appears that N-S are going to try and bag E-W - yes 6 bags have been given before! West therefore bid 3 - one more for luck! Fortunately North realised in time what was going on and after N-S had rattled off 10 tricks, E-W saw that they had been conned. Score now 454-303. N-S still alive - just!

Hand 2 - Miracles Do Happen - Part 2

    542
J10
9865
10653
 
7
Q72
KJ107
AQ42
  N   A1093
9643
AQ
J98
W   E
  S  
    KQJ86
AK85
43
K7
 

N-S luck continued on the next hand. East bid 4, South bid 6 and East was desperate to bid nil, but he settled for a bid of 2. North launched into Double Nil. As the cards were placed this was untouchable. South made his 6 bid and N-S won 563 to 524! What a turn around! This should show you that should you never give up. There is always hope. Miracles don't happen very often, but when they do ..........

Were E-W just unlucky? The answer is no not entirely! West knows that North is likely to bid double-nil and the odds are that he will make it. Can he do anything about it? Bidding 2 gave N-S a very easy time. West has two possibilities. Firstly, he can play to set the 6 bid. He should let his partner know this by bidding 3 or even 4! The other option is to bid nil - Yes it's a TERRIBLE nil, but it makes life difficult for N-S. If N still bids DN then you will probably make your nil and win the game! If he bids 1 - then you can set them! If he bids nil - then you probably both make your nils. Once again you win! What would I have bid ? I'm not sure, but definitely not 2! This hand was a lot more complicated than at first appeared.

The main lesson to learn from these two hands is - Make life as difficult as possible for your opponents. Give them a chance to go wrong and they often will. Remember NEVER GIVE UP!



Return to Home


@ Please me if you have any comments or suggestions @




(This page was last updated on 23rd September 2002 )